You are here

Local Rules

Consistent with 28 U.S.C. § 2075 and Fed. R. Bankr. P. 9029(a), the Bankruptcy Court for the District of Maine has adopted local rules governing practice and procedure.

Local Rules - Links in the Table of Contents, when clicked, will take you to the corresponding rule

The Local Rules were last updated on July 22, 2020 amending Local Bankruptcy Rules 2007-1, 2081-1 9013-1(d)(1). This updated version of the Local Rules includes all amendments through July 22, 2020, and is the official version of the Local Bankruptcy Rules for the District of Maine.

For Interim Rules implementing the Small Business Reorganization Act of 2019, please see the Standing Order Regarding SBRA Interim Rules.

Rules Amendments

The process for promulgating an amendment to a rule or form involves several levels of consideration and approval, the first of which is consideration and approval by the Local Rules Committee of the Bankruptcy Court. For a graphic representation of the rules amendment process, please see our Local Rules Amendments flow chart. Current local rule amendments published for public comment, if any, appear below. Proposed amendments are published for comment for 30 days. Comments should be sent to David LePauloue, Acting Clerk (please make clear in the subject line of your email that the email is in regard to a proposed local rule

Revision History Commencing with revisions made on or after January 1, 2017, all amendments to the local rules (sorted by rule) can be found here.

 

Local Rules Committee Meetings:

The Local Rules Committee meets five - six times per year, approximately every other month. Agendas will be posted one week prior to meetings, and minutes after they have been approved by the full Committee.

List of Meeting Minutes
 

Local Rules Committee Members:

D. Sam Anderson, Bernstein Shur, sanderson@bernsteinshur.com
Kevin J. Crosman, Asst. Attorney General, kevin.crosman@maine.gov
Shawn K. Doil, Eaton Peabody, sdoil@eatonpeabody.com
Andrew M. Dudley, Standing Chapter 13 Trustee, jawill@chap13.com
Allison Economy, Rudman Winchell, aeconomy@rudmanwinchell.com
Nathaniel R. Hull, Chair, Verrill Dana LLP, nhull@verrilldana.com
James F. Molleur, Molleur Law Office, jim@molleurlaw.com
Stephen G. Morrell, Asst. U.S. Trustee, stephen.g.morrell@usdoj.gov
F. Bruce Sleeper, Jensen, Baird, Gardner & Henry, bsleeper@jbgh.com
James R. Wholly, Law Office of Carl D. McCue LLC, jameswholly@mccuelawoffice.com