News & Announcements

Check this page, or the News and Announcements box on the homepage, for the latest official news and announcements released by the court. You can also access archived news and announcements from this page.

Wed, 10/01/2014
  • The First Circuit Court of Appeals has announced a bankruptcy judge vacancy in the District of Maine (Bangor). The position description and...
Mon, 08/18/2014

The Judicial Conference Advisory Committee on Bankruptcy Rules has proposed amendments to the federal bankruptcy rules and forms, and requested that the proposal be circulated to the bench, bar, and public for comment. The public comment period...

Thu, 08/14/2014

The Bankruptcy Court (D. ME) will be closed on Tuesday, September 9, and Wednesday, September 10, for an all-staff training event. The Court will also close early on Monday, September 8, to allow staff to travel to the training location. The...

Tue, 05/27/2014

The National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges has announced that it is now accepting applications for its Honorable Cornelius Blackshear Presidential Fellowships for minority lawyers who practice bankruptcy law....

Tue, 05/27/2014

Effective Sunday, June 1, several bankruptcy fees are going up. The cost to file an adversary proceeding is going to $350 (from $293), and the cost to file new cases are shown below.

Chapter           Fee(effective 6/1/2014)...

Wed, 05/07/2014

Bangor Clerk's Office closed on Friday, May 9th, 2014 Due to a staffing shortage, the Bangor office of the United States Bankruptcy Court will be closed on Friday, May 9. For telephone assistance, please call our Portland office (207-780-...

Fri, 05/02/2014
Thu, 04/17/2014

At its March 2014 session, the Judicial Conference of The United States approved several fee increases for bankruptcy cases. These fee increases become effective June 1, 2014. First, the fee for filing an adversary is being raised to match that...

Wed, 04/16/2014

Local Bankruptcy Rule 9045-1 has been amended. The rule as previously written allowed parties to continue matters without filing a motion if all parties to the matter consented. The new rule adds three limitations to that ability. First, it...

Wed, 04/02/2014

Pages